Goaltide Daily Current Affairs 2024

Jan 10, 2024

Current Affair 1:
Zero Defect Zero Effect (ZED) Scheme



Read introduction of scheme:

Current Affair 2:
National Sports and Adventure Awards 2023


The awards are given annually to recognize and reward excellence in sports, highlight extraordinary performance at the national and international competitive events, encourage sportsmanship and promote nation-building.

It promotes qualities like leadership, discipline, commitment, teamwork and a passion for health and fitness in the psyche of a nation with the world’s largest youth population. The awards are administered by the Ministry of Youth Affairs & Sports, Government of India.

Major Dhyan Chand Khel Ratna Award

Considered India’s highest sporting honour, the Khel Ratna was established in 1991-92. The award is named after the Indian hockey legend, Major Dhyan Chand (1905–79) who is considered to be one of the best players to have ever played the sport of hockey.

Arjuna Award

Named after Arjuna, the main protagonist from the ancient Indian epic Mahabharata, the Arjuna Award was instituted in 1961.[4] It was India’s highest sporting honour before the Khel Ratna came into being.


It is awarded for consistent good performance over a period of four years. The winners of the Arjuna Award receive a statuette of Arjuna, a certificate and a cash prize.

Dronacharya Award

The Dronacharya Award, instituted in 1985, is India’s highest sports honour for coaches. It is awarded to individuals for producing medal winners at prestigious international events. This award is named after Dronacharya or Drona who was Arjuna’s guru or coach in the Indian epic Mahabharata. Awardees receive a bronze statue of Dronacharya, a certificate and a cash prize.

The first woman to win the Dronacharya award was athletics coach Renu Kohli in 2002. This Award is given for both recent accomplishments and lifetime contributions.

Major Dhyan Chand Award

Another award named after India’s hockey magician Dhyan Chand; the Major Dhyan Chand Award represents India’s highest honour for lifetime achievements in sports. Presented for good performance and contributing towards the promotion of sports in an individual capacity since 2002, the winners get a Dhyan Chand statuette, a certificate, and a cash prize.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy (MAKA)

The oldest National Sports Award in India, the Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy or the MAKA Trophy was instituted in 1956–1957. This award is named in honour of the Indian freedom fighter and the country’s first education minister Shri Abul Kalam Azad.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

Awarded to organisations or corporates (both private and public) and individuals for playing a role in the area of sports promotion and development over the last three years, the Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar has been a fixture in the National Sports Awards list since 2009.

Selection Process for 2023:

The applications were invited online and sportspersons/coaches/entities were permitted to self-apply through a dedicated Online Portal.

A large number of applications/nominations were received for these awards this year, which were considered by the Selection Committee headed by Justice A. M. Khanwilkar, Retd. Judge, Supreme Court of India and consisting members from eminent sportspersons, persons having experience in sports journalism and sports administrators.

Based on the recommendations of the Committee and after due scrutiny, Government confer awards.


Current Affair 3:



It recognizes the contribution made by Retired Officials to Nation building while working in Government and to document the administrative history of India by written narratives.

The portal was launched by the Government of India, Ministry of personnel, Public Grievances & Pensions, Department of Pension & Pensioners' welfare.

To participate in the scheme, retiring Central Government employees/pensioners are required to submit their Anubhav write ups, 8 months prior to retirement and up to 1 year after their retirement. Thereafter, the write-ups will be published after assessment by concerned Ministries/Departments.

Each ANUBHAV Awardees will be felicitated with a medal and certificate and a Prize of 10,000 rupees, whereas a Jury certificate Winner will be presented with a medal and a certificate.

Current Affair 4:
I-STEM to launch Samavesha project



I-STEM (Indian Science, Technology, and Engineering facilities Map) is launching the Samavesha project at IISc., Bengaluru, on January 16 to enhance research collaboration in India by enhancing accessibility to facilities and labs.

About I-STEM:

I-STEM is planning to conduct around 50 Samavesha across India in 2024. The project targets connecting researchers with scientific institutes through an online portal.

<< Previous Next >>

Send To My Bookmarks